Search Day Night

Dstv Mzansi Viewers’ Choice Awards Nominees Announced!

Mzansi Magic Viewers' Choice Awards_KDanielles Media

Mzansi Magic brings the second viewers’ choice award ceremony to celebrate homegrown talent. Here is a list of the nominees for this year’s awards.


At the DSTV Mzansi Viewers’ Choice Awards (DMVCA) launch event held at Summer Place in Hyde Park on 14 August 2018, names that need no introduction in the entertainment industry were listed for the nominations. Gqom sensation, Destruction Boyz, led the nominees list with an impressive three nods; for Song of the Year, Favourite Rising Star and Favourite Music Artist/Group.

Nipping close at the heels with two nominations each are Prince Kaybee and Kagiso Rabada. The house music sensation and cricket fast bowler have been making waves and raking in the silverware respectively over the past few months.

Prince Kaybee is nominated in the Song of the Year and Favourite DJ categories, while Rabada appears in the Favourite Sports Personality of the Year and Favourite Personality of the Year lists.

Rabada will have to beat stiff competition from media darling Bonang Matheba, crowd favourite Papa Penny Ahee, Mzansi sweetheart Nomzamo Mbatha and the flamboyant reality TV star Somizi Mhlongo.

In 2017, fan favourite Thembisa Mdoda walked away with the Mzansi’s ultimate favourite personality award, a hotly contested category that had fans furiously casting a combined one million votes across categories.

This year there is the addition of a new category, Favourite Personality of the Year, which will be awarded to a personality that has gone above and beyond to have an impact in our society.

There’s also a hardworking and dedicated community leader who will be bestowed the Life Changer award, courtesy of headline sponsor 1LIFE. This is a person who has worked tirelessly and passionately for the betterment of their community to create positive change. Not only will they be honoured at the ceremony, but will also receive a cash prize of R50 000

Below is the full list of categories and nominees…

Song of the year

Prince Kaybee & Lasoulmates Ft Zanda Zakuza & Tns – Club Controller

Dj Maphorisa Ft Dj Tira, Busiswa & Moonchild Sanelly – Midnight Starring

Heavy k Ft Nokwazi & Bucie – Inde

Distruction Boyz ft Dladla Mshunqisi & Benny Maverick – Omunye

Kwesta ft Wale – Spirit

Favourite tv presenter

Lerato Kganyago

Thomas Mlambo

Pearl Modiadie

Carol Tshabalala

Anele Mdoda

Favourite comedian (kia)


Felix Hlophe

Tumi Morake

Smowkey Nyembe

Mpho Popps

Favourite rising star (kia)

Smash Afrika

Luvuyo Manyonga

Distruction boyz

Langa Mavuso

Lungi Ngidi

Favourite radio personality

Anele Mdoda

Ntate Thuso Motaung

Dudu ‘Lady D’ Khoza

DJ Fresh

Selby ‘Selbeyonce’ Mkhize

Favourite actor

Warren Masemola

Hamilton Dlamini

Mduduzi Mabaso

Masoja Msiza

Khulu Skenjana

Favourite actress 

Thembsie Matu

Rami Chuene

Linda Sebezo

Moshidi Motshegwa

Lesego Marakalla

Favourite music artist / group (castle milk stout)

Lady Zamar


Distruction Boyz



Favourite DJ

Ms Cosmo

Dj Maphorisa

Prince Kaybee

Dj Tira

Black Coffee

Favourite sports personality (Supersport)

Kagiso Rabada

Percy Tau

Caster Semenya

Pitso Mosimane

Siya Kolisi

Favourite Personality of the Year

Papa Penny Ahee

Bonang Matheba

Nomzamo Mbatha

Somizi Mhlongo

Kagiso Rabada

The awards will take place on 24 November 2018, with Bonang Matheba as the host.

To vote visit:

My Journey To Success with Unathi Msenga. KDanielles Media

My Journey To Success with Unathi Nkayi

Facebook Twitter Pinterest LinkedIn39-year-old entertainer and businesswoman, Unathi Nkayi shares how she’s built a successful career for the…


  1. Attractive component of content. I simply stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact loved account your blog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds or even I success you get
    entry to persistently quickly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like