Search Day Night

And the nominees are…

Savanna Comics' Choice Awards

The seventh Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards promises to be bigger and better, with a pan African nomination added to this year’s event

On 9 September 2017 South Africa’s much anticipated annual event will see comedians coming together to celebrate the hard work they put in making us laugh. This year, the Savanna Comics’ Choice has a whopping 11 award categories, where comedians vote for their fellow comics who are awarded with the coveted Waldo (the Savanna CCA’s statuette). In case you had missed it this year’s nominees are:

Breakthrough Award

Skhumba Hlophe

Alfred Adriaan

Loyiso Gola

Robby Collins

Tumi Morake

Savanna Newcomer of the Year

Thabiso Mhlongo

Tsitsi Chiumya

Bongani Dube

Eric Jansen


Intermediate Award

Ebenhaezer Dibakwane

Virgil Prins

Glen Biderman-Pam

Noko Moswete

Mo Mothebe

Non-English Comic Award


Skhumba Hlophe

Celeste Ntuli

Mashabela Galane

Thapelo King Flat Mametja

Savanna Comics' Choice Awards...

Flying Solo Award

Skhumba Hlophe

Carvin H Goldstone

Celeste Ntuli

Loyiso Gola

Mashabela Galane

Comics’ Pen Award

Mojak Lehoko

Trevor Noah

Muzi Dlamini

Lazola Gola

Karabo Lediga

tumi-morake-Savanna comic choice awards

The Nando’s Best Friend of Comedy

Goliath & Goliath

David Kau – Blacks Only

Carvin H Goldstone

On Fire Comedy

Armchair – Gino Fernandez

Savanna Comic of the Year

Skhumba Hlophe

Loyiso Gola

Carvin H Goldstone

Celeste Ntuli

Kagiso KG Mokgadi

The exciting thing this year is that the awards’ vision to expand into Africa and take the continent’s talent to a global stage will become a reality because, for the first time, the Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year Award has been introduced.


summary- Savanna comic choice awards

The nominees for the Savanna Pan African Comic of the Year award are:

Patrick Idringi (aka Salvado) from Uganda

Bright Okpocha (aka Basketmouth) from Nigeria

Carl Joshua Ncube from Zimbabwe

Tshepo “Masapo” Mpiti from Lesotho

Fernando Filipe from Angola

The Audience Choice Award nominees are:

Elton Mduduzi Ntuli

Pelepele Mchunu

Thapelo Maila

Luphelo Kodwa

Thabang ER

savanna comics choice awards,

This year’s Lifetime Achiever recipient is Cyril Green!

Diarise 9 September and make your way to the Lyric Theatre at Gold Reef City for an incredible show featuring some of the best comedy, stand-up, skits and production of a lifetime.

For information on and to buy tickets for SA’s premier comedy awards event, please visit

Who’s your favourite nominated comedian?

Moshe Ndiki

My Journey To Success With Moshe Ndiki

Facebook Twitter Pinterest LinkedInEntertainer and YouTube sensation, Moshe Ndiki lets us into his successful career behind the lens.…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like